Is Flying Embers Hard Seltzer Gluten-Free?

Get a Flying Embers if you’re looking for stomach-friendly alcohol. But is Flying Embers Hard Seltzer gluten-free? Read more to find out.

Is flying embers hard seltzer gluten-free
Flying embers had seltzers is a gluten-free drink

Did you know that about 20 million Americans are gluten-sensitive? Gluten-intolerant people are keen on finding products free of gluten so they can enjoy their food and beverage in peace. Here is where the Flying Embers Hard Seltzers, a gluten-free drink with other benefits, comes in.

Hard seltzer is a famous beverage with flavored carbonated water and alcohol. It’s a drink with an alcohol content that ranges from 4 to 6% ABV. Some can even go as high as 12% ABV. 

The Rise Of Gluten-Free Products In The US

To understand gluten-free living, you must first know what gluten is. It’s a family of proteins found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and spelt that provides many culinary benefits, especially in baking. However, gluten intolerance can cause health problems for those with celiac disease, irritable bowel syndrome, wheat allergy, and gluten sensitivity.

Because 30% of the American population deliberately avoids gluten, many companies also produce gluten-free products to give their consumers an option. Another reason for the continuous market growth is influencers and celebrities promoting healthy lifestyles and better eating habits, including gluten-free diets. 

Nowadays, supermarkets have allocated space for gluten-free products, and some restaurants have dishes made with gluten-free ingredients.

You might also be interested in learning is hard kombucha gluten-free.

Unsafe Alcoholic Beverages During A Gluten-Free Diet

When your doctor says to start a gluten-free diet, other than foods, you should also avoid any beverages with barley, malt, and other gluten-containing grains. For alcoholic drinks, this includes beer, wine, and ales. Beverages made from non-gluten grains like distilled spirits, whiskey, vodka, bourbon, and gin can still cause bloating and digestion issues for people with gluten sensitivity.

Take note that some beverages, especially alcoholic ones that don’t have gluten grains on the labels, can still upset your stomach. That’s because wheat gluten can infiltrate alcoholic beverages as a fining agent giving the drink a smooth finish. Don’t worry because there are still many safe foods and drinks if you’re on a gluten-free diet.

So, is hard seltzer gluten-free? Besides water, drinking fruit juices, tea, and coffee is safe. For alcoholic beverages, there are wine, hard ciders, and beer made from gluten-free grains, but the best option is the hard seltzers.

The Hard Seltzer

4 cans of bud light seltzer
The alcohol in hard seltzers is made by fermenting sugar and yeast in water

“Seltzer” is the generic term for carbonated and soda water from an urban district in Germany known as Niederselters. In Niederselters, natural spring water is high in carbonation but low in mineral content. Hard seltzer is a light and refreshing drink for Americans looking for a delicious alternative beverage containing carbonated water, alcohol, and fruit flavoring.

The alcohol in hard seltzers is made by fermenting sugar and yeast in water. In some hard seltzer products, you will not notice any taste of alcohol, and most of these drinks have a subtle sweetness plus a good dose of sourness from the organic ingredients.

Is Hard Seltzer Gluten-Free From Any Brand?

Not all hard seltzer on the market are naturally gluten-free. While most brands use cane sugar in producing alcohol, some also use gluten-containing grains like malted barley. 

If you’re looking for 100% gluten-free hard seltzers, you should try Flying Embers.

Flying Embers Hard Seltzer

Health-conscious drinkers consider hard seltzers as a healthy alternative. The Flying Embers Hard Seltzer launched in 2020 as the world’s first probiotic-powered hard seltzer with antioxidants. It’s gluten-free, USDA-certified organic, keto-friendly, vegan, with live probiotics, antioxidant vitamin C, and low calories.

Aside from being gluten-free, Flying Embers also claims its hard seltzer is free of sugar and carbs. This is due to the dry fermentation process in which the champagne yeast consumes all the sugar to become alcohol. Since there is no sugar, there’s nothing for live cultures to consume that stops fermentation after canning, so the products are shelf-stable.

In terms of flavors, the brand has everything. Its special selection of organic ingredients and the adaptogen root blend in every flavor make Flying Embers Hard Seltzers unique.

Flying Embers has two main products: hard seltzers and hard kombucha. 

More About Flying Embers Hard Seltzer

Now that you’ve found the perfect hard seltzer that is safe to drink while on a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to know more about this product. So, here are the different flavors you can try and where you can buy them.

Flavors and Alcohol Content

Flying Embers has two collections of hard seltzer: fruit and flora botanical and sweet and heat tropical. Both collections have 5% ABV, 95 calories, and can be purchased per can or pack.

Fruit & Flora Botanical Collection

  • Clementine Hibiscus: A bubbly, fruity, and slightly sweet drink with freshly peeled clementine mixed with sour and tangy hibiscus.
  • Black Cherry Rose:  An aromatic, rich in dark cherries flavor paired with the essence of red roses and a hint of sweetness.
  • Passionfruit Elderflower:  A slightly sour passion fruit drink with a hint of elderflower.

Sweet & Heat Tropical Collection

  • Watermelon Chili: Mixes the taste of fresh watermelon with spicy chili and a hint of citrus flavor.
  • Guava Jalapeno: Refreshing pink guava drink mixed with the spiciness of fresh chopped jalapeno.
  • Pineapple Cayenne: Has a bold, crisp and juicy mix of pineapple and a pop of cayenne pepper.

Where To Buy Flying Embers Gluten-Free Hard Seltzer?

You can buy Flying Embers Hard Seltzer in physical stores like Target or use the store locator feature on its website.

Gluten-free flying embers hard seltzer can be bought online

It’s also available online. You can directly purchase from its website or use third-party online shops like Drizly, Instacart, and Total Wine. Unfortunately, it’s not available on Amazon, and it’s pretty expensive but will surely be worth your money.

FAQs About Gluten-Free Flying Embers Hard Seltzer

What Is Flying Embers Made From?

Flying Embers is known for its hard kombucha and hard seltzers. Its kombucha product is made with sugar, champagne yeast, SCOBY, and organic tea. On the other hand, hard seltzers are created with sugar, champagne yeast, and superfruits processed into the alcohol during fermentation.

What Alcohol Is In Flying Embers Hard Kombucha?

Flying Embers use SCOBY like other kombucha brands, but champagne yeast is used instead of regular yeast during the fermentation. Flying Embers Hard Kombucha’s alcohol content varies from 4.5 to 7.2% ABV.

Is Flying Embers Hard Seltzer Vegan?

Flying Embers Hard Seltzers are USDA-certified organic, with live probiotics, have zero sugar and carbs, are keto-friendly, and are gluten-free and vegan. 

Does Flying Embers Contain Caffeine?

Flying Embers Hard Kombucha contains organic tea. Each can contains 18 milligrams or about one-third of the average amount of caffeine in your regular cup of tea. You can enjoy its hard kombucha any time of the day without worrying about the caffeine content in the drink.


  • Maria Caballero

    Writer and coffee lover, Maria Caballero, is fond of visiting new cafes and trying current trends involving caffeine. She shares amusing experiences to fellow coffee enthusiasts who wants to explore the world of coffee.